Skip to content

A Moment in History: Recognizing the 225th Anniversary of Mozart’s #39 Symphony

June 26, 2013

Today marks the 225th anniversary of Mozart’s #39 symphony. The symphony is comprised of four movements, which includes sounds of flutes, clarinets, bassoons, horns, trumpets, timpani and strings. This symphony was the first of a set of three that he composed during the summer of 1788; his last symphonies before he died in 1791. There is little evidence about the time of the premiere, and it is uncertain if the work was even performed during his lifetime.

Mozart was a hugely influential force in classical music. Today, on the 225th Anniversary of one of his most celebrated works we remember the genius behind the piece.  Mozart once said,  “Our riches, being in our brains, die with us…unless of course someone chops off our head, in which case, we won’t need them anyway,” but we know that’s not entirely true. Today we still enjoy the riches this wonderful composer left behind.

Of course, Mozart would likely think it a silly thing to celebrate one or any of his compositions at all.

“I pay no attention whatever to anybody’s praise or blame. I simply follow my own feelings.” -Mozart

In any case today is a day to enjoy #39 Symphony.  

mozart“Melody is the essence of music. I compare a good melodist to a fine racer, and counterpointists to hack post-horses; therefore be advised, let well aloneand remember the old Italian proverb: Chi sa più, meno sa— Who knows most, knows least.” -Mozart



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: